The wedding diary #4: Putting our trust in talented hands

wedding-mantelpiece-decoration

When it comes to planning a wedding you have to put a lot of trust in other people’s hands. You spend hours organising the big day and creating your ‘vision’ but a lot of the ‘big stuff’ is left to the suppliers. From the catering company and wedding coordinators down to the makeup artist and seamstress, there are many hands that play a part in creating the wedding you’ve dreamed of. For someone who is admittedly picky, I find this a little tricky! In #4 of The Wedding Diary, I’m going to reveal two of these trusted and (very) capable people – florist Jennifer Poynter and photographer Wayne Lawes

fresh-vibrant-aisle-flowers

Blooming gorgeous flowers!

I’ve adored flowers since I was a little girl and my parents nurtured this love by giving me a small plot of the garden to dig and plant bulbs, I’d always return from walks in the country with a big bunch of wild flowers and K charmed me over by buying me flowers every weekend when we were dating – so of course flowers were a high priority for our wedding day!

Jen was recommended to me by two of my friends and after just a quick browse of her website I knew she was the florist for us! Her gorgeous use of colour, sumptuous styling and ability to make even the simplest of floral arrangements look dreamy made me confident that she could capture the vision I had in my head for our wedding.

My Mum and I first met Jen, who lives around the corner from my parents house, for our initial consultation a few weeks ago and we chatted about colour schemes and what I had in mind for the bridal party bouquets and venue styling. She also suggested flowers that were seasonal for a February wedding and showed us images of some of her previous work. Jen won Best Newcomer in The Wedding Industry Awards 2015 and Best Wedding Florist at The Dorset Wedding Supplier Awards 2014 – pretty impressive for someone who made the leap to running her own business only a year and a half ago. I know our flowers are in safe hands with this lady!

autumn-wedding-fireplace-arrangementpurple-and-coral-floral-wreath

Capturing one of the most important days of our lives!

One of the most trusted people when it come to anyones wedding day has got to be the photographer, capturing those once in a lifetime moments that you’ll remember for the rest of your life. You can’t go back and shoot the day again so it’s got to be someone you not only feel comfortable sharing your special day with, but also someone you know will come up with the goods.

Wayne and I met around 6 years ago, when I was starting out in the world of acting. He shot a few images of me for my portfolio and then went on to work with my brother, winning Digital Camera Magazine’s Photographer of the Year with a picture he shot of him jumping in the air. We then worked together again in my last job as Deputy Editor of Creativity magazine, and one afternoon after a day’s shooting for the mag, he showed me a beautiful book he had created for a couple who had recently got married. I remember telling him that if I ever got married, I’d know who to turn to!

0002-Greenhouse-Hotel-Wedding-_DSC0902East-Close-Hotel-Wedding-DSC_08541Annabelle-Hotel-Paphos-Wedding-0393Annabelle-Hotel-Paphos-Wedding-0635

So shortly after K and I got engaged, I got back in touch with Wayne to see if he was available for our day and thankfully he said yes (this man gets booked up 2 years in advance)! We’re meeting him this weekend to discuss some initial ideas and I’m so excited! Wayne captures those precious moments other photographers often miss and sees the special little details that make up a wedding – from catching a dab of a hankie to the favours .

I really am thrilled to have him on board, he’s one of the most talented photographers I’ve met and I’m a big fan of his work – I fully expect our home to be a gallery of our wedding once the day is over! He’ll also be photographing a ‘Love Shoot’ for us sometime in the months to come – I just need to choose a beautiful location!

East-Close-Hotel-Wedding-_DSC5802-a118-c-Lawes-Photography-_DSC10357_DSC5675-C-Lawes-Photography

Sarah signature copy

Follow me: Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

 

All images used in this post came from either www.JenniferPoynterFlowers.co.uk or www.LawesPhotography.co.uk. The first four images are of Jen’s beautiful floral arrangements and the last seven images are Wayne’s wonderful photographs. Make sure to check out their websites for more of their work.

2 thoughts on “The wedding diary #4: Putting our trust in talented hands

Leave a comment